Case

Canon of the Netherlands

Le Canon historique des Pays-Bas contient 50 des personnes, objets et évènements les plus importants qui racontent ensemble le développement historique et culturel des Pays-Bas. Le Canon historique des Pays-Bas joue un rôle important dans l’enseignement secondaire.

Que voulions-nous déverrouiller?

Le Canon historique des Pays-Bas contient 50 des personnes, objets et évènements les plus importants qui racontent ensemble le développement historique et culturel des Pays-Bas. Le Canon historique des Pays-Bas joue un rôle important dans l’enseignement secondaire.

Le Canon des Pays-Bas a été dépoussiéré et remis à neuf. De nouvelles personnes, de nouveaux objets et évènements ont été ajoutés. La question que le Ministère de l’Éducation, de la Culture et de la Science a posée, en collaboration avec l’Écomusée, était donc : comment assurer que les jeunes de 17 et de 18 ans en école secondaire connaissent les nouvelles histoires du Canon?

Notre ambition était d'inspirer vraiment le groupe cible et de le faire réfléchir

Quelle était notre approche typique Matter? Rencontre entre les données/la technologie et la créativité

Nous ne voulions pas seulement toucher le groupe cible avec les histoires du Canon. Notre ambition était de vraiment les inspirer et les faire réfléchir. Il était donc essentiel de bien comprendre ce qu’ils avaient en tête.

En collaboration avec le spécialiste des jeunes YoungWorks, nous avons mené une enquête qualitative auprès des jeunes. En pleine crise Covid, cela voulait dire beaucoup de conversations Zoom individuelles avec des jeunes et en groupe.

We developed the central concept from the insights obtained, combined with other target group research. We then tested this concept again with the target group before the production phase. We started producing and rolling out the campaign based on concrete target group insights and with young people who refined the concept.

Qu’avons-nous découvert ? Rencontre entre les données/la technologie et la créativité

Beaucoup d’enseignements ont été recueillis pendant les conversations avec des jeunes, mais une chose était claire : les jeunes trouvent les cours d’histoire ennuyeux, parce qu’à l’école, les enseignants utilisent du matériel qu’ils ne trouvent souvent ni inspirant ni pertinent.

Ce qui les intéresse vraiment dans l’histoire ce sont des leçons de vie qui peuvent les aider. Ils se trouvent dans une phase de leur vie où ils se découvrent et se développent.

À quel point n’est-il pas inspirant pour un jeune de 17 ans d’apprendre sur Aletta Jacobs qui a écrit une lettre au ministre Thorbecke pour être admise à l’université et ainsi devenir la première étudiante de médecine aux Pays-Bas à l’âge de 17 ans?

Quelle solution avons-nous proposé ? Solution de contenu

History is full of life lessons that young people can use in their search for identity. Shame on us, if we don?t let them learn from history!

Idée centrale : Wake up ! Apprenez du passé et tournez-vous vers votre avenir.

Nous avons traduit des leçons d’histoire en leçons de vie pour des jeunes sous la forme d’affirmations partageables, puissantes et courtes. De cette façon, l’histoire devient pertinente dans la recherche de leur propre identité. Des leçons de vie qu’ils peuvent utiliser pour devenir ceux qu’ils veulent être.

Nous avons collaboré avec des enseignants d’aujourd’hui : les modèles influents Isadee, Bokoesam et Latifah. Ces influenceurs ont partagé les leçons qu’ils ont appris eux-mêmes de l’histoire. Avec trois différents sujets principaux qui sont actuellement plus pertinents que jamais : le perfectionnisme, le racisme et le féminisme.

Nous avons lancé la campagne avec une vidéo digne de Beyoncé et avons examiné trois beaux courts métrages avec les leçons de vie des modèles.

Vidéo principale, life lesson ‘Women can do everything’, canon theme: ‘Aletta Jacobs’.
Résumé 2, life lesson ‘Being yourself is perfect enough’, canon theme: ‘Vincent van Gogh’.
Résumé 3, life lesson ‘Learn and respect’, canon theme: ‘Anton de Kom’.

De plus, chacun des 50 sujets du Canon des Pays-Bas a été présenté sur une page Instagram. Nous l’avons fait avec un article coloré et dynamique, dans lequel nous avons partagé les premières leçons sociales de l’histoire.

Quelques exemples: 

 

autres exemples:

Instagram post 2.
Instagram post 3.
Instagram post 4.

Et nous sommes allés au-delà du social. En collaboration avec l’artiste et influenceur Hedy Tjin, nous avons réalisé quatre peintures murales avec des leçons de vie marquantes réparties dans tous les Pays-Bas.

 

Instagram post 6.
Instagram post 7.
Instagrampost 8.

Cet art de la rue était non seulement très tangible, mais il s’est également très bien comporté sur les réseaux sociaux. Avec un taux d’engagement de plus de 28% sur les contenus entourant le street art, cela s’est avéré faire mouche.

Approche média

Nous ne nous chargeons pas seulement de la stratégie, de la création et de la production de la campagne, mais aussi du déploiement et de l’optimisation des médias en ligne. 

L’objectif de la campagne était d’avoir un impact maximal sur les jeunes de 17-18 ans. Certains principes ont été essentiels dans notre approche: 

  • Maximiser la portée de l’audience pour une visibilité maximale
  • Optimiser les contacts multiples pendant la période de la campagne pour générer de l’impact et de la reconnaissabilité impact and recognizability
  • Créer un ciblage séquentiel pour inclure le groupe cible dans différentes histoires successives de la campagne.

Afin de ne pas trop dépenser du budget, nous avons investi sur Instagram et YouTube. Deux canaux où le groupe cible peut être atteint facilement à moindre coût et où l’on peut mettre en place un bon ciblage séquentiel.

Cijfers liegen niet! | Data 

Het doel was om de doelgroep van +/- 400.000 jongeren maximaal te bereiken met voldoende betrokkenheid bij de onderwerpen uit de Canon van Nederland. Daar zijn we duidelijk in geslaagd.

We realiseerden een getarget uniek bereik van ruim 450.000 mensen en behaalden ruim 16.000.000 views. Tijdens de campagne optimaliseerden we continu, waardoor de CPM-prijzen met bijna 50% daalden.

Op YouTube behaalden we een gemiddelde view rate van 89% op de kick-off video’s en short docs. Gemiddeld haalden we een engagement rate van 8%, wat bijna 2x hoger is dan een reguliere sociale campagne. We hadden zelfs uitschieters van 25% engagement op bepaalde content.

Last but not least kregen we niets dan positieve feedback van de volgers van onze rolmodellen over hun levenslessen en hun deelname aan de campagne.

Cases

Canon of the Netherlands

The Canon of the Netherlands includes the 50 most important people, objects and events that together tell the story of the historical and cultural development of the Netherlands.

What did we want to unlock? | Unlocking full potential

The Canon of the Netherlands includes the 50 most important people, objects and events that together tell the story of the historical and cultural development of the Netherlands. The Canon of the Netherlands plays a central role in secondary education.

The Canon of the Netherlands was dusted down and given a makeover. New people, objects and events were included. The question posed by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, in collaboration with the Open Air Museum, was therefore: how do we ensure that 17- and 18-year-old secondary school students also hear the new stories from the Canon?

Our ambition was to really inspire the target group and make them think.

What was our typical Matter approach? | Data & tech meets creativity

We didn’t just want to reach the target group with the stories from the Canon. Our ambition was to really inspire them and make them think. This made it essential to thoroughly understand what is on their minds.

In collaboration with youth specialist YoungWorks, we conducted a qualitative youth survey. In the middle of the Coronavirus pandemic, this meant numerous Zoom conversations 1-on-1 with young people, and in groups.

We developed the central concept from the insights obtained, combined with other target group research. We then tested this concept again with the target group before the production phase. We started producing and rolling out the campaign based on concrete target group insights and with young people who refined the concept.

What did we discover? | Data & tech meets creativity

Many insights emerged from the conversations with young people, but one thing stood out: young people find history lessons basically boring, because they have the experience at school with teachers and teaching material that they often find uninspiring or relevant.

What they do find interesting about history are the life lessons that can help them. They are in a phase of life in which they are discovering and develop ingthemselves.

How inspiring is it for a 17-year-old to hear about Aletta Jacobs who wrote a letter to Minister Thorbecke in order to be admitted to university, thereby becoming the first female medical student in the Netherlands at the age of 17?

What was our solution? | Content solutions

History is full of life lessons that young people can use in their search for identity. Shame on us, if we don’t let them learn from history!

Central idea: Wake up! Learn from the past and face your future.

We translated history lessons into life lessons for young people in short, powerful and shareable statements. In this way, history becomes relevant in their search for their own identity. Life lessons they can use to become who they want to be.

We did this together with teachers of today: the influential role models Isadee, Bokoesam and Latifah. These influencers shared the lessons they themselves learned from history. With three different main themes that are now more relevant than ever: perfectionism, racism and feminism.

We kicked off the campaign with a Beyoncé-worthy video, and looked into three beautiful short docs with the life lessons of the role models.

Shortdoc 1, life lesson ‘Women can do everything’, canon theme: ‘Aletta Jacobs’.
Shortdoc 2, life lesson ‘Being yourself is perfect enough’, canon theme: ‘Vincent van Gogh’.
Shortdoc 3, life lesson ‘Learn and respect’, canon theme: ‘Anton de Kom’.

In addition, each of the 50 topics from the Canon of the Netherlands was featured on an Instagram page. We did this with a colourful and dynamic post, in which we shared social first life lessons from history.

A few examples: 

Other examples:

Instagram post 2.
Instagram post 3.
Instagram post 4.

And we went beyond social. Together with artist and influencer Hedy Tjin, we made four murals with statement life lessons spread throughout the Netherlands. 

Instagram post 6.
Instagram post 7.
Instagrampost 8.

This street art was not only very tangible, but also did very well on social. With an engagement rate of over 28% on the content surrounding the street art, this turned out to hit the bull’s eye. 

Media approach 

We were not only responsible for the strategy, creation and production of the campaign, but also for the deployment and optimization of digital media. 

The aim of the campaign was to have maximum impact on 17- and 18-year-olds. A number of principles were central to our approach: 

  • Maximize audience reach for maximum visibility
  • Optimize multiple contacts in the campaign period for impact and recognizability
  • Set up sequential targeting, to include the target group in several successive stories in the campaign.

In order not to spend too much of the budget, we have invested in Instagram and YouTube. Two channels where the target group can be easily reached at low costs and where we can set up good sequential targeting.

Numbers don’t lie! | Data 

The goal was to reach the target group of +/- 400,000 young people with sufficient involvement in the topics from the Canon of the Netherlands. We have succeeded very well in this.

We achieved a highly targeted unique reach of over 450,000 people and achieved over 16,000,000 views. During the campaign, we continuously optimized, reducing CPM prices by almost 50%.

On YouTube we achieved an average view rate of 89% on the kick-off videos and short docs. On average we achieved an engagement rate of 8%, which is almost 2x higher than a regular social campaign. We even had 25% engagement peaks on certain content.

Last but not least, we received nothing but positive feedback from our role models’ followers about their life lessons and their participation in the campaign.

Questions?